Pre-Senior (6 1/2 year long) Moment

If you dislike what I have to say, then today is good news for you. There may soon be an apology coming your way.

I’m not sure if I am ready to sign my name blood and all, like the Far Right does, but the Pro-Life Movement may be getting a new member.

The Apology would be to any women my Pro-Choice Position may have offended in the past, but especially to my wife and girls, mother and sister. I thought that not having, or being a vagina, it would be wise to defer all decisions regarding its use to its owner. A woman.

A special news segment came on about Abortion and Contraception, and the likelihood of Roe v Wade being overturned and ending nearly all access to legal abortion facilities in this Country. Romney + Supremes = Bend Over – No Need for Stirrups.

As this was happening, I noted that my mom had voted early for Mitt Romney, and that my sister has vowed to vote for for him as well. So, I asked the other 3 if they cared about what could happen to the reproductive rights of women. Rights that men and women have fought and died to give them. They all said yes.

Then I asked them what they are willing to do about it.

One smiled uncomfortably, amused.

One said that doing anything wouldn’t matter.

One asked if I was Pro-Life, or Pro-Choice.

It doesn’t take a genius, right?

Seems I may not know much about supporting women.

 

 

This entry was posted in The Time Is Now, Right?. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pre-Senior (6 1/2 year long) Moment

  1. G. W. Grillo says:

    Don, I was pro-choice when I was younger, but as I’ve gotten older, I’ve found that I have more of a pro-life stance for my ladies. This is not something that will shout from the roof tops, nor is this the hill that I choose to fight and die on. I hate to say it, but I really don’t care either way. For my daughter, I would strongly discourage an abortion to the point of telling her “If you don’t want the responsibility of a child, first off you need to re-evaluate your lifestyle and future actions; secondly, if you allow the pregnancy to continue to birth, your Mother and I will take custody and raise the child as our own”. If she still chose the abortion route, of course, I would be greatly disappointed. Let’s face it, either way I’ll be disappointed in her actions, but she is my daughter and I’ll support her, no matter what. I just don’t feel as a man, that I have the right to dictate the choices a woman would make in regard to her body. Don’t be disheartened, I feel that most woman don’t really get that involved in the abortion/contraception debates because they don’t think it will be something they will have to face. Responsible people provide their own protection. These days, most women are concerned with putting food on the table and making ends meet. Semper Fidelis

    Like

  2. don says:

    Good words as usual Gregg. I may hate it overall, but as a man, it’s just not my decision. Thanks again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

